Wednesday’s Word #29

Well, here it is again, the bright, hot, green months of summer. Apparently, yesterday was the longest day of the year…and I thought it was today…oops. I always thought it was on the 21st, turns out it can be on the 20th too.

“SOLSTICE”

noun(astronomy) either of the two times a year when the sun is at its greatest distance from the celestial equator: about June 21, when the sun reaches its northernmost point on the celestial sphere, or about December 22, when it reaches its southernmost point; a furthest or culminating point (dictionary.com)

While I was growing up in Florida, this time is usually considered about mid-summer – since the heat starts approximately in March and doesn’t end until say…October. Haha… Now that I live in Virginia I think of summer a lot differently. This is the time it actually starts getting quite warm, like an actual season. It is amazing. I use to think I could not survive in a place that I had to wear something other than flip flops and a tank top…turns out they make cute clothes like boots and sweaters…so it makes it bearable!

From here on out the days get shorter and we begin the second half of the year countdown. I have a lot of things to look forward to this second half of 2012…my daughter’s 2nd birthday, my first niece being born, a couple of vacations, my brother & sister-in-law visiting and of course my new favorite season, FALL and the beautiful holidays!

I hope everyone has some great things to look forward to until the next solstice!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

