Growing Garden

Yet another update on my patio garden. Exciting developments. Flowers are blooming!

The zucchini is beautiful! Last year, my squash plants bloomed like crazy. Sadly the flowers would just die off and nothing would come of them. I REALLY hope that does not happen this year. Does anyone know why that would happen? Not enough sunlight? Like I’ve said, I know almost nothing about gardening.

The tomato plants seem quite happy. They are blooming and I already have 5 tomatoes waiting to turn red.

I am completely enthralled with my cucumber plant. Every day it grows and climbs further up the trellis. Now it has beautiful little yellow flowers…hopefully soon-to-be little cucumbers.

I never thought I would love gardening as much as I do. It is so peaceful and relaxing to sit in the middle of a garden, even a patio garden, and watch the plants grow. If a garden really does grow on love mine should bring in a bountiful harvest! 😉

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Janet

     /  June 3, 2012

    Tracey,
    Squash blossoms are either male or female. Only the female will produce a squash, the male blossom will just fall off with no squash. In the pict. you posted, I only see male squash blossoms. You can tell the difference by the stem leading to the actual blossom. If it is thin and straight from top to bottom, it is a male. A female will be a little bigger at one end of the stem than the other. Kinda of like a pregnant woman when she starts to develop a baby bump. I’m here in Ky at my folks and they have both yellow and zuchcini growing.

    Reply
    • Wow, ok. Thank you so much for sharing! I had no idea about veggie flowers. I am now doing some research. I really appreciate the info…I hope your parents squash do well this year!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

