Wednesday’s Word #24

This week’s word is defined differently by different people at different times. It is something that people are always searching for, reaching for, striving for…

“SUCCESS”

noun: the favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors; the attainment of wealth, position, honors or the like

synonym: achievement, fame, triumph (dictionary.com)

How do I define success? To be honest I haven’t really thought about it specifically. I guess success for me, in a long-term thought process, would be to live everyday striving to be the best I can be for Christ and my family. It is obvious that I fail constantly – but as long as I do my best, keeping focused on the Word – I can succeed.

Since my “career” right now is MOM, smaller successes equate to helping my little ones do things like: complete meals, make crafts, imagine, learn ABC’s, draw, get through shopping trips with no tantrums, etc… This week was a big week for our little family. Success is defined this week by my boy transitioning to his “big boy bed” from his toddler bed…he LOVES it! Success is also defined this week by a great start to potty training for my little girl! Ahh…success.

It is a great feeling to succeed. If you are anything like me, you are way to hard on yourself. I always expect perfection from myself. I don’t except anything less than I know is my best. Even for small things, if I have done anything less than my best or I fail at something, guilt inevitably follows. I am still learning to give myself a little break when I know I have done my best and still do not succeed – it almost makes me twitch just typing that!

How do you measure success? Stop and think about it…it might just help refocus your goals and current life track. You never know, a slight readjustment of how you view success could easily bring about great success!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. If I define success as where I am right now, I’ve succeeded!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

