For Dinner

Thought I would share a bit of yummy. A sort of unspoken “new year’s resolution” of mine was to be more creative in the kitchen. I didn’t really plan on it, but it has happened and I am having a lot of fun drowning in all kinds of recipes. I find them in magazines, pinterest, email, blogs, websites, word of mouth, etc… love all kinds of recipes! Usually, I make at least one or two new meals a week. It has made dinners fun, well, maybe not for my picky children…haha…

My favorite type of recipe is one that does not have a lot of rare/uncommon ingredients, simple directions, fresh ingredients and one that offers substitutions and options. I found my dinner recipe off of the Kraft Foods website. Their recipes rarely fail me and they usually uphold all of my qualifications for a “good recipe.”

I provided the link to the recipe above, but I tweaked it a tiny bit, so here is what I made for dinner tonight:

Broccoli & Cheddar Quiche

  • 1 1/2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped fresh broccoli
  • 1 1/4 cups chopped vidalia onion
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/3 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 frozen deep-dish pie crust (9-in)

Heat oven to 375.

Cook vegetables in skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat for 5 minutes or until crisp-tender, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.

Beat eggs, mayonnaise, and milk in a medium bowl with a whisk until well blended. Stir in vegetable mixture and cheese; pour into pie crust. Place on a baking sheet.

Bake 40 to 45 minutes or until center of quiche is set and top is golden brown. Let stand 10 minutes before slicing to serve.

Hello YUM! I was so excited because it actually cooked properly and tasted fantastic! Things I make for the first time don’t always come out cooked the way they should…but this did! I love finding and making really good meatless meals. This is only a semi-healthy meal, but it was tasty! Try and enjoy if you’d like 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

