Wednesday’s Word #17

Since today is a special day, the word for the week is a pretty obvious one. This is a year with an extra day, a strange thought. What did you do with your extra day?

“LEAP”

verb: to spring through the air from one point or position to another; to move or act quickly or suddenly; to pass, come, rise, etc., as if with a jump (dictionary.com)

“LEAP YEAR”

definition: “A leap year (or intercalary or bissextile year) is a year containing one additional day (or, in the case of lunisolar calendars, a month) in order to keep the calendar year synchronized with the astronomical or seasonal year. Because seasons and astronomical events do not repeat in a whole number of days, a calendar that had the same number of days in each year would, over time, drift with respect to the event it was supposed to track. By occasionally inserting (or intercalating) an additional day or month into the year, the drift can be corrected. A year that is not a leap year is called a common year.” (wikipedia.org)

The fact that there is an extra day this year confuses me. Time itself confuses me, to be honest. Like setting the clocks ahead in the couple weeks, or the different time zones – how my friend in China is has already begun tomorrow…it blows my mind. I just can’t think too much about these things. So, with that in mind, I treated today – Leap Day – as any other day.

The kids and I went to the library this morning, it was a bit of what I call “the traveling circus” – light rain, a parking space on the street, a bag of heavy books to return, an 18 month old on my hip, holding an umbrella, 4 year old hanging on through the parking lot… My little girl woke up from her nap wrong and was cranky all afternoon. I tried a new recipe in the crock pot which said it would take 6 hours, but really took like 3…I worked with it and it was actually really good. The kids had a little dance party after dinner. And the night is now peaceful. Yup, a pretty typical day.

I hope everyone had a great extra day!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I just like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again right here regularly. I’m moderately certain I will be informed a lot of new stuff right right here! Good luck for the following!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

