Word of the Week #5

Today my kids and I had the opportunity to go on a field trip with my husband (science teacher) to the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center. It was such a treasure to watch their precious faces as they took in all the sights at the aquarium and boardwalk. My word is:

“WONDER”

verb: to think or speculate curiously; to be filled with admiration, amazement, or awe; marvel
noun: the emotion excited by what is strange and surprising; a feeling of surprised or puzzled interest, sometimes tinged with admiration (dictionary.com)

There is something so serene about being underwater. It is something I have always loved: the bubbling silence, the fluid tranquility, weightlessness, the graceful, liquidity of movement, and with your eyes closed, the stillness of a quiet moment alone. It is truly beautiful to watch the array of creatures that call the water their home. It was equally as amazing to watch my kids be fascinated by each tank or tunnel we passed. Ooo’s and aahh’s, pointing and wow’s….

Everything we walked by made their eyes grow wide with the “WONDER” of a new sight. My son flipped fish books, asked questions, pointed things out to me, and interacted with the aquarium staff. It is “wonder”ful to see him learn and grow in all kinds of environments. Then later as we sat and waited to eat lunch he taught me about metamorphosis and migration….my little professor.

His favorite things were the stingrays….

….because he got to truly interact with them. He also liked learning about the dolphins and echolocation.

My sweet, little daughter spoke her gibberish to all the fish, stingrays, sharks and stuffed otter in the gift shop. She loved watching all the animals, pointing to them and “telling” me what she excited about. From her interactions here and at the Zoo, I think I have deduced that her favorite animal right now is the turtle…

….she really lights up when she sees them (even though here she is snuggling with her blanket).

As we walked the boardwalk and nature path to the other part of the aquarium, I was taken aback at how lovely the autumn leaves looked. While at the same time I “wondered” at why this “wonderful” Wednesday getting closer to winter was so unusually warm?

We really had a great time. Get out there, support your local zoos and aquariums! Learn and “wonder” about God’s marvelous creation and become familiar with your neighboring wildlife, habitats and how you can be a good steward of the lands and animals we have been given to protect.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Janet

     /  November 17, 2011

    Tracey,
    That is such a great picture of all of you! What a sweet looking family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

