Word of the Week #2

Well, my Wednesday’s Word is a day late partially because of my word for this week. This word was very appropriate for the day:

“SURPRISE”

noun: something amazing; state of amazement
synonyms: astonishment, bewilderment, shock, unexpected, start, stupefaction, suddenness, wonderment, unforseen

verb: sneak up on; catch
synonyms: ambush, catch off-guard, drop in on, catch unawares, startle, spring on, burst in on, nab, discover (thesaurus.com)

The verb description is what applied to my day yesterday. Just going about my day preparing to take the kids to their grandparents for a few days when I received a knock on my door. I put down my dish towel and walk to the door thinking I might be receiving an unexpected package. I’ll say… There behind the peephole were two of my childhood toys staring back at me. Huh? The toys move and there is my Mom! Talk about “drop in on” or “catch unawares” – definitely “something amazing.” My mother, who lives about 15 hours away, was standing at my doorstep! My mouth was hanging open for a good 30 minutes as I couldn’t believe she was there, in my house, playing with her grand-babies. A wonderful, SURPRISE few hours i got to spend with my wonderful Mommy! Thank you Mom for making my day! 🙂 Love and miss you…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Janet

     /  October 28, 2011

    Ahhhh, so glad she got there before you and the kids were gone! What a sweet SURPRISE!

    Reply
  2. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up with the great info you have here within this post. I will be ever coming back to your blog with regard to more soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

