Word of the Week #1

Since I am such a lover of words I decided to make Wednesday my “Word of the Week” post. It is always fascinating to learn a new word, refresh ones vocabulary, or simply muse over a word which has particular meaning for that time.

My word for this week is:

HOPE

(noun) the feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best; a feeling of desire for something and confidence in the possibility of its fulfillment
(verb) to believe, desire, or trust; to look forward to with desire and reasonable confidence.  (dictionary.com)

According to the Psalms:

  • Psalm 31:24 – “Be strong and take heart, all you who HOPE in the Lord.”
  • Psalm 43:5 – “Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your HOPE in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.”
  • Psalm 119:114 – “You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my HOPE in you word.”

Romans 15:13 – “May the God of HOPE fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with HOPE by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

Sometimes it is easily set aside, sometimes forgotten, sometimes lost…but HOPE is something we cannot live without. This word has meant a lot to me lately, for many reasons. Sometimes it is hard to focus on the light of HOPE when there seems to be so much darkness around. HOPE gives us stability, gives us focus, brings us joy and peace. Put that HOPE in Jesus Christ because He is the only Rock for which our HOPE and future can rest.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

